1. Home
  2. About trade marks
  3. What are trade mark classes?

What are trade mark classes?

Trade marks must be registered in one or more of 45 ‘classes’: 34 classes for goods and 11 for services. Classes group products that are deemed to be similar areas of trade and are identified by their numbers. Classes can be non-intuitive and complicated to work out – for example, photography is mentioned in five different classes, but the services of a professional or studio photographer are only in class 42 and easily missed – which is why it’s best to submit your trade mark application through a professional service.

The fees that you pay for your application reflect the number of classes under which you need your trade mark to be registered. Once you make your application to Trade Mark Direct’s expert team, we’ll make sure that your trade mark application is submitted under all the relevant classes, so ensuring that your brand will befully protected once your registration is complete.

Updated on 11th September 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment